PRA honors top home building retailer

Mr. William Belo (4th from left)--Wilcon Depot's Founder and Chairman receives from PRA President Atty. Paul A. Santos (3rd) his trophy as PRA President's Awardee during the 20th OFR-SCY Awarding Night on July 26, 2017. Mr Belo is hailed as the “Patriarch of Home Building Retail”. Joining them are PRA Board of Directors (L-R) Mr. Mars Chua, Mr. Lorenzo Formoso, Ms. Ma. Alegria Limjoco, Ms. Rose Marie Ong, and Mr. Jorge Mendiola.

(Source: Manila Bulletin | July 30, 2017)

The Philippine Retailers Association (PRA), the recognized national association of top retailers and suppliers in the country, said it will continue to recognize excellent Filipino retailers to  inspire industry players to recalibrate their operations to be globally competitive.

This year, the 20th Outstanding Filipino Retailers and Shopping Centers of the Year Awards recognized Wilcon Depot, Inc. Founder and Chairman Emeritus William T. Belo with its prestigious PRA President’s Award for his invaluable contribution to the growth of the home building retail sector.

PRA President Atty. Paul A. Santos said William Belo’s commitment to excellence and customer satisfaction are the primary reasons why Wilcon Depot is continually growing and being patronized by its customers and partners for the last 40 years.

“The innovations he has introduced through the company have set the standards not only in the home furnishing and construction niche, but in the entire retail industry as well. His invaluable contribution to the Philippine retail industry truly deserves PRA’s highest recognition,” said Santos, who owns Picture City.

With the award, Belo is now officially included on the list of pillars and important contributors to the growth of Philippine retailing.

As a local company with international standards, Wilcon Depot has proven that home-grown companies can be truly world-class, Santos added.

Belo receives the PRA President’s Award, the highest award given by PRA in cooperation with the Department of Trade and Industry – in recognition of his insightful and commendable leadership at the helm of Wilcon Depot thus making it the country’s largest and most successful in home building retail.

Previous recipients of the President’s Award include Henry Sy (Father of Philippine Retailing), Fernando Zobel de Ayala (Pillar of Philippine Retail Development), Jorge Araneta (Pioneer of Philippine Retail Entertainment), Samie Lim (Pioneering Pillar of Franchising), Socorro Ramos (Matriarch of Philippine Retailing), John Gokongwei Jr. (Champion of Retail Entrepreneurship), Amb. Bienvenido Tantoco Sr. (Father of Luxury Retailing), Mariano Que (Father of Health and Wellness Retailing), Teresita Sy-Coson (Philippine Retailing’s Woman Visionary Leader), Dr. Andrew Tan (Pillar of Mixed-Use Developments), and Lucio Co (Patriarch of Home Building Retail).


Read More: